Reading, Watching, Listening To #1

In which I list stuff what I have been, erm, reading, watching, and listening to recently. Clue’s in the title folks.

Reading: My library of Disney books is pretty big, and I’m looking forward to adding some of their forthcoming offerings to the collection. Currently, I’m working my way through 80s/90s animator supreme Andreas Deja’s book on the Nine Old Men. I’m not that far into it yet, but it’s already filled with wonderful snippets of information (as you’d expect from the brilliant Deja) and glorious art (as you’d expect from the Nine Old Men). I can’t wait to get stuck into it properly.

Watching: This weekend, CBS Action has been showing a marathon of episode from the original Star Trek series. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve seen some of these episodes, and they’re a delight. The Original Series will always be my favourite of all Treks (TV and film) because I have such a love of 60s sci-fi (the 60s as a whole really), and the stories really hold up well, even 50 years on. Balance of Terror is my personal favourite, but really you can’t go wrong with most of them.

Listening to:¬†Beastie Boys. Inspired by the use of Sabotage in Star Trek Beyond, I’ve been listening to a hell of a lot of Beastie Boys recently. I’ve stuck largely to the hits for the timebeing, but there are so many great ones to choose from. Sabotage and Ch-Check It Out are probably my favourites, and make for particularly good gym music. Plus, they like Trek, so they’re good people.

Leave a Reply

