One Lovely Blog Award

I was nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by the supreme Sisters Switch over on 0wlmachine. I was introduced to erm and three after they commented on a Top 10 Disney Films post I wrote, and they’ve pretty much become my favourite internet people since then.

Thanks to them for nominating me, but more than that, thanks to them for the constant wonderful conversation about Disney, and their incredible Disney posts. If you’ve never read their blog before, please check it out. Their insight is incredible, and they write with a warmth to their wit that I see far too little of online.

I would recommend the following erm and three masterpieces: I Want: Our Guide to Disney Princesses,  In Defence of Mr and Mrs Arendelle, Beauty and the Beast, The Ethics of the Sun’s Gift, and because I wouldn’t feel right talking about erm and three and not mentioning felines, Disney Cats.

Hello, I’m Paul…

Apparently, this is the bit where I’ve got to mention seven things about me. I’m never comfortable talking about myself, so writing seven things is a real stretch. Apologies if these are a little dull…

  1. As well as being a Disney fan, I also love the films of Steven Spielberg. So much so I have another blog, called From Director Steven Spielberg, which will be celebrating its fifth birthday this month. Happy birthday to me, etc etc.
  2. One of the first films I saw at the cinema was Jurassic Park. It was also the first Spielberg film I saw at the cinema, and made me fall in love with his films. I tried to make a sequel with a papier mache island and action figure actors. The papier mache started attracting flies and the actors wouldn’t stand up. Foiled, I turned to a life of writing about films, rather than making them, and even wrote a whole (free!) e-book about Jurassic Park once. I’d love to do one on Disney at some point too.
  3. If I could have any talent, it’d be to draw. Art is the closest thing there is to magic in my eyes, and one of my favourite things is to watch videos of people (especially Disney animators) drawing characters. There’s something special about seeing a blank piece of paper come to life with just a few strokes of a pencil.
  4.  I’m a very shy person and struggle to talk to people in real life. This means that at age 32, I’ve never had a girlfriend, or a date, or a kiss. I beat myself up about this quite a lot, but am hoping to boost my confidence, make more friends, and maybe find someone special. That’d be nice.
  5. I have this enduring fascination with North America – the United States, Canada, the whole lot. There’s such beauty to the land and such richness in the history. I’d love to wander in the Canadian wilderness and go on a road trip of little American towns. It’s an interesting part of the world, and because it’s hardly some overlooked little nook, people don’t give it the credit it’s due.
  6. As I’m shy, I’m not a big fan of going out. I like museums and exhibitions, stuff like that, but my ideal night out is a night in… a nice meal, a warm fire, and a good film (Disney or Spielberg please) on the TV.
  7. When I was a kid, I was seemingly fascinated by the kettle. On one occasion, I grabbed the kettle, not knowing it had boiling water in it. Ouchiness and a trip to the hospital ensued. On another, I was messing around with a thermometer, and put it over the top of a boiling kettle, right in the steam. It blew up, mercury got everywhere, shoutiness and a trip to the shops for a new kettle ensued.

Nominations

As I mentioned, I haven’t been on WordPress for very long, but as a fan of classic Hollywood, I’ve found myself drawn to the below two bloggers, who do wonderful work.

Champagne for Lunch is written by Simoa, who puts together some incredible posts about Old Hollywood. I love reading blogs written with passion and insight, and Simoa has both by the bucket load.

Cinema Cities is written by Keisha, and she’s another tremendously talented writer. If a blog can show me something I didn’t previously know or hadn’t previously considered, I fall in love with it.

And that’s something that Simoa, Keisha, and erm and three do with each and every post. They’re awesome and you should think they’re awesome too.

Here are the rules for accepting your One Lovely Blog Award nomination:

  1. Write a blog post accepting your nomination.
  2. Show the blogger who nominated you how much you love them by thanking them in the post and linking to their blog.
  3. Tell us seven things about yourself.
  4. Nominate other blogs that you think are totally rad.
  5. Let the bloggers you’ve nominated know about they’ve received an award.
  6. Post the rules again to let those bloggers know how it works.

 

6 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Thanks for the kind words Paul, I appreciate it!

    I’m a pretty shy person too so I relate to your idea of a night in over a night out. Most of my weekends are happily spent watching movies in the comfort of my home. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yay, good to hear I’m not the only one. There are few things better than a nice night in with a movie.

      And no problem on the positive words about your blog – you write great stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – I have no life!!

      I’m actually really enjoying it. Writing the posts, and showing a little something about myself, is helping the whole confidence thing. As is talking to you folks! So it helps to just keep churning stuff out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much, Paul! I always enjoy reading your blog as well, can never do with enough Disney knowledge and joy. 🙂 And I can’t wait to check out your ebook on Jurassic Park; one of the most formative films of my childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

