On Romance

This year marked my 32nd year on this curious blue and green rock, and therefore my 32nd year without a girlfriend. It’s cool, I’m going for a place in the Guinness Book of World Records. History beckons!

I’ve always been quite a romantic guy, and rather than feel too down about my lack of lurve (frankly I’ve only got myself and my shyness to blame), I try to remind myself of why romance is so good and worth putting myself in positions I’m uncomfortable with to achieve.

It’s for this reason that I’ve spent a lot of this week reading about Date Nite at Disneyland. If you’re not familiar with the concept, Date Nite at Disneyland saw young couples visit the theme park in the evening to do couples stuff (not that kind of couples stuff!). It ran intermittently during the 50s and 60s before being phased out.

The closeness of the couple, the blur in the background… I love this pic!

I was reminded of Date Nite at Disneyland by recent Dapper Day events held at Disneyland and Walt Disney World. These are like Date Nites without the necessity for a date. Folks just visit the parks dressed in vintage style clothing and look darned cool while doing so. There’s a sense of nostalgic romance to it, something that’s only heightened if you’re actually part of a couple.

It’s all really rather lovely and it always brings a smile to my face to see people being so creative, and sharing their creativity with the people they love. Dapper Days are a little like cosplay, and I find cosplay quite romantic too, when done with your partner. Again, it’s lovely when you can share something with your boyfriend or girlfriend, especially something creative.

One day, I’m sure I’ll find someone to be Dapper with or to go on Date Nites with, but until then, I’ll just continue to admire the people who do that already. I love seeing romance in action. And hey, maybe that’s romantic in itself?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to watch Paperman again and sob quietly in the corner.

4 thoughts on “On Romance

  1. Happy 32nd bday!

    If it’s any consolation, I’ve never had a girlfriend or a girl love me either. Hopefully you and I will get ours soon!

    I love the idea of romance and love in those 50s/60s pictures: it seemed much more intense, pure, and loving than nowadays.

    Like

    1. It’ll all work out for us. Hopefully! 🙂

      And I agree on romance int he 50s and 60s. Maybe it’s just empty nostalgia, but there’s just something so warm and wonderful about those pics.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

